Q: Is corn gluten digestible while wheat gluten is not?
A: This is a great question, especially with all the gluten intolerance discussion that has arisen. For a person who is avoiding gluten due to celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, the gluten found in corn is not harmful and will be properly digested. Gluten-containing grains that need to be avoided include wheat, rye and barley. “Safe” grains include corn, potatoes, rice, amaranth, quinoa, buckwheat, tapioca, sorghum and millet. If you or anyone you know is gluten-free and would like personalized guidance for product selection, visit with me in the Hy-Vee store or email me: firstname.lastname@example.org.